The Last Road to a 100

“The longest journey a man must take is the eighteen inches from his head to his heart.”- unknown 

There will never be an end, until the end.

Life is full of highs and lows. Often times these come unexpected and duration can never be predicted. It’s in how we deal with these ups and downs that make them worthwhile.

It’s about the attitude we choose to use in life that signifies whether it was a positive or negative experience.

And the only certainty in life is that there will always be highs and lows just like the cyclical patterns of the changing tides. Most likely they will be less frequent, but there will always be a rise and there will always be a fall.

We have to accept that fact.

It would be inhuman to think that you will always be happy or that we will always feel a certain way.

There are so many feelings on the emotional spectrum and it is only natural to go through them.

I have used running as my middle ground to sort through my life journey. Things seem to make more sense while I’m running or after I have finished a run.

I absolutely love the clarity that running brings to me.

Sharing my inner thoughts on here has been wonderful but I know from personal experience that the only way to learn and grow is through your own personal experience. It’s easy to sit and read what I have done and what I have thought, but do you as a reader truly learn anything?

I don’t want to sound cynical but I don’t think so.

And as I mentioned earlier there will always be highs and lows. I have accepted that. With that in mind, there are only so many ways to express how I feel about running. There are only so many ways to interpret the lessons I have learned while going through my own journey.

This will be a lifelong journey.

At some point it will become redundant, for you and for me.

I choose running, or it has chosen me, to be the means of passionate transportation down my own path. Through that, it defines me as a person and it is my metaphorical guide to the book of my life.

I am on this journey from my head to my heart. I have no idea where I am along this journey but I can tell you that I have a ways to go.

I believe that the best way to finding the balance and peace within, you need to live in the present moment. You need to live now, to be fully alive.

Lately, I have worked on being more mindful of my thoughts and actions. Wondering why I do certain things or think a certain way.

Something I have pondered on is why I, and others, feel the need to share our own unique stories.

A lot of times I worry that the reason I do share my life is to increase my self-esteem. That might sound a little dark, but before you post something to the world, sit and think why you are doing that. What inner purpose does it serve?

Life can be long or it can be short, but if you aren’t living in the present, then what’s the point?

As I have become more present with myself and my surroundings, I have found the need to share my journey less important. It’s distracting. And I hope everyone starts to think in the same way.

Just live.

Live and grow your own way.

I am glad I was able to project my evolution over the last few years with everyone but I know that it is time to move on from this.

It’s time to close this chapter and look forward to the horizon of another era. New adventures and new achievements.

This won’t be the end of my running, but this will be the end of Road to a 100 after my next 100 miler. I’ll continue to do ultras and other 100s, but I won’t have any need to document my ups and downs along the way.

Because my experience doesn’t translate to your experience. You have to find that on your own.

You, me, we. We have to go out and live. Not here, online. But out there, in the world.

“You can’t live at all, unless you can live fully, now.” -Alan Watts

6 thoughts on “The Last Road to a 100

  1. Dan

    This was an interesting and familiar perspective. I want to say that my original intent with creating my own blog was to be able to document all of my racing exploits around the country (and lately the world) for my own benefit. As I age, I will undoubtedly lose some of the finer details of each event, and so I will rely on the infinite repository of the internet to fill the increasingly large gaps in my memory.

    But I’ve kept a private journal since 1999. So … why did I choose to create a blog instead of merely documenting them for myself? The question does beg an occasionally sheepish answer: because I want people to know what I do. Why? Because there might be some value in the stories of a long-distance runner? Because running might offer unique perspectives on life and living? Or because sometimes it’s just fun to immerse yourself in someone else’s thoughts?

    I don’t know. The online running community can be a great bunch, and I’ve had the fortune of meeting a lot of my readers. That alone has made the blogging experiment worthwhile. So though I respect your decision to continue on your own, I hope you don’t forget the reason many of us run in the first place: to connect with others in a very weird way.

    Reply
  2. Patti

    Joey … I’ll miss reading your thoughts ….Your message to Matt will never be forgotten … Please stay inspired and happy …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

