Ineffable

adjective
too great or extreme to be expressed or described in words
incapable of being expressed or described in words; inexpressible

The Cascade Creek Trail, between Durango and Silverton Colorado, was recommended to me and without hesitation I planned to do it the next day.

I did minimal planning for it. I just eyeballed the map before leaving.

Something I did notice when looking at a map, was that I could connect a few trails and make a giant loop around Engineer Mountain. I wasn’t sure on the distance and time that would take to do, but it was on my mind.

I started around 11 in the morning and I wanted to be back to my car around 5 in the afternoon. 6 hours of hiking.

Around two hours into the hike, I came to my first split and I knew that taking it right would take me towards the mountain. If I took it left, it would circle me back around back onto the trail I was on.

I went right.

From what I remembered about the map, I would have to take two rights to do a full circumnavigation around the mountain. I told myself that I would either turn around at 3 hours into the hike or keep going if I were to make it to the second turn, which ever came first. Since I had no idea the length of the loop, I didn’t want to be out until dark.

The second turn never seemed to come.

I was climbing and climbing and going away from the general direction I felt I should have been going.

Because I briefly looked at a map, I was questioning if I was even on the correct trail.

I passed the 3 hour mark but something inside me told me not to turn around. I was arguing with myself in my head. My head was telling me to turn around. But I kept going praying a trail intersection was coming up. I felt pulled.

Curiosity pulled me further.

As I climbed higher, further away from my car and still no turn in site, I turned around and Engineer Mountain towered behind me. I never thought of turning around, even as I was getting above the treeline. I felt a slight triumph getting my first glimpse of it.

Not much further, I found the next and final turn, making my way towards Engineer and my car.

This was the best hike I have ever done and something tells me there will be even more like this to come.

It seemed that as I went further and further it became more and more beautiful. I was giddy and in awe by every view.

And as much as I love to write, I do know that my vocabulary wouldn’t do what I saw justice. Even the pictures won’t either. I could try my best to describe everything but I feel that it was so beautiful that it should be stated as indescribable.

ineffable

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

2 thoughts on “Ineffable

Leave a Reply

