Durango, My New Home

I have packed up and moved on. To a new city. To a new state.

Durango, Colorado!

I knew that by the end of the summer, I was going to find a new home for me. I was working a seasonal job at the local YMCA in Wyoming for the summer kids program. Once the kids went back to school my hours went back to part time and it wasn’t going to be enough to sustain me.

I then had to decide if I wanted to stay in Buffalo, WY.

If were to do that, I would need another job. But as I thought about staying, I realized that I didn’t love the town enough to work a job that I was not happy with.

And I also remember reading a quote that went something like, “life is too short to do one thing and to stay in one place.”

I thought about even staying through another winter, but then that would be another half year gone that I could be exploring somewhere else.

For the past few years, Flagstaff Arizona has been high up on places I would like to live. Mainly, because they have a big running community and have a large trail system to run and hike on.

I did put some effort into finding a place to rent in Flagstaff and at the same time I connected with a runner online, who had just moved to Durango.

My interest in Flagstaff quickly transferred over towards Durango. Even though I had never been there before.

Basically this past Monday, I packed up all of my stuff and took off towards Colorado.

Overall, I am thrilled to be in a new place and to have a new chapter to my life to live. But a strange thought came to me today about new adventures. And maybe I am just speaking for myself. But as much as we crave new experiences, we also want a routine.

Mixed in with my excitement are feelings of uncertainty and a slight discomfort for me. But from past experience I have come to find out that those feelings dissipate once things begin to feel familiar and a routine is established.

And I think as much as we want life to be a big grand adventure on a larger scale, we have in our nature the need to have some routine on a smaller scale.

Routine can sometimes get placed in a negative area. I only think routine is a bad thing when it gets to the point where you are not feeding your soul in some way. Though that’s when change is on the horizon for the people that recognize that and feel that burning desire for more out of life.

The excitement of being in Durango has filled me! And at the same time I am looking forward to finding my routine here. This place looks absolutely wonderful. I can’t wait to discover all of the trails around town and to meet new people.

This will be a better place for me compared to where I left. I can feel it.

Here’s to another new beginning.

image

19 thoughts on “Durango, My New Home

    1. Joey Post author

      Thanks! What I’m going to love about the location of this town is that I can drive 30ish minutes and be in New Mexico, Utah and Arizona

      Reply
  1. donna creditor

    So glad you are beginning to feel at home…..let me know about any great 50 miler/50ks I can come run there! Send positive vibes my way Sept. 19 and 20!

    Reply
  2. Jim Brennan

    Good luck to you in Durango, Joey. I spent a month in Summit County, Colorado in 2006, and fell in love with it, but with four kids and a fifth grandchild on the way, I’m not as mobile, so consider yourself fortunate and take advantage of every opportunity. I know you will succeed wherever you go.
    Be well.

    Reply
  3. migrantmatt

    I live in Summit County, CO and have been here for 4 years.. I am having trouble wanting to move and explore a new area, although Durango has been high on my list. Enjoy!!!

    Reply
  4. racingthestates

    WOO! Welcome to Colorado! It’s wonderful here! I’m up in Golden, but finding myself moving closer and closer into the mountains over the years. Judging from your blog posts, I think you’ll be loving Durango. It’s awesome down there. Seems like it would fit your lifestyle!

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      I love it so far! Trails left and right from the city and tons of runners too. I’ve probably had more fun the last few weeks than I did in a year in Wyoming

      Reply

Leave a Reply

