Mountain Calling

“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” -Jim Carrey

I had a huge week of training this week. I covered about 110 miles total. It was my first time ever running over 100 miles in a week.

I had two awesome back to back long runs over the weekend. Went 25 on Saturday where I ran up Grouse Mountain. Felt great to dig deep with drool all over my face hammering up the switchbacks. And Sunday I did 21 along a long and windy dirt round at the base of the mountains.

Probably some of my best runs and in some of the most beautiful and scenic area.

I love it here.

And I finally feel content.

Ever since college the mountain west has been calling to my heart. I satisfied that urge temporarily with a few cross country road trips, but once the excitement of those faded, there was always that temptation to move somewhere out there.

It wasn’t until the other day that I realized that my heart has been quiet. Not burning to do what is what screaming at me to do.

There were days this week that I felt pure happiness and satisfied. After running during the morning hours I spent that rest of the days reading, writing, listening to music or doing a puzzle. Might sound extremely boring to many but I loved every minute of those days.

Yeah I am getting sick of eating PB&Js every day and pasta just about every night, but I am doing what I love doing. Living in the mountains, chasing my dreams of winning ultra marathons, writing and working with kids.

I know it’s a constant theme in my writings, but follow your heart. You get one life, make it amazing.

7 thoughts on “Mountain Calling

    1. Joey Post author

      I was super sore today waking up and found it hard to get out of bed. Thought about everyone that seems to be inspired by what I do, and it got me going!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

