Role Model

Everything you do right now ripples outward and affects everyone. Your posture can shine your heart or transmit anxiety. Your breath can radiate love or muddy the room in depression. Your glance can awaken joy. Your words can inspire freedom. Your every act can open hearts and minds. —David Deida

The other day at work while all of the kid’s parents were picking them up, the mother of two boys came up to me.

Yep, the same two that I mentioned in the post Passion + Compassion.

She told me that she is extremely grateful that I have been so great with her boys. She told me that they don’t have a male figure in their lives right now and I’ve become a role model for them and their only male figure. She said they talk about me a lot and she just wanted say thank you to me for hanging out with them in our after school program.

This definitely made my day!

Not only is it wonderful to get that kind of praise for my job but it’s incredible and rewarding to know that I have made an impact on a few lives just by having fun and being me.

I think I have been on a search for a job that has a positive impact on people. I think that it why I have always felt unimportant and that my job was meaningless at most jobs that I have had.

But I think I have finally found something that I love to do and that has hopefully made a difference in the lives around me.

I have even started a collection of all of the drawings and colorings that the kids have made me and it has warmed my heart to know they are thinking of me when they are making something.

It’s definitely hard work watching after a group of kids but I feel like I am getting more in return with the happiness I have received from them.


All of this makes me wonder why we praise certain people in society. Why do we care so much about celebrities?

Do we really become happier and better people by learning what someone wore on the red carpet? Or by buying what someone is being paid to talk about?

Here is a little quiz to ponder over based on the philosophy of the creator of the Peanuts comic strip, Charles Schulz:

1. Name the five wealthiest people in the world.  

2. Name the last five Heisman trophy winners.  

3. Name the last five winners of the Miss America.  

 4. Name ten people who have won the Nobel or Pulitzer Prize.  

5. Name the last half dozen Academy Award winner for best actor and actress.  

6. Name the last decade’s worth of World Series winners.

Here’s another quiz. See how you do on this one:

1. List a few teachers who aided your journey through school.  

2. Name three friends who have helped you through a difficult time.  

3. Name five people who have taught you something worthwhile.  

4. Think of a few people who have made you feel appreciated and special.  

5. Think of five people you enjoy spendingtime with.

The lesson: The people who make a difference in your life are not the ones with the most credentials, the most money, or the most awards. They are the ones that care.

2 thoughts on “Role Model

Leave a Reply

