Running Together

Solitude has been one of many enjoyments that I have found in running that suits my nature. Running is my time in the day that I get to disconnect from my phone and computer, from worries and obligations, from books and music, and even from people.

I find balance in being able to clear my head or even collect my thoughts of the day. It allows me the chance to be more aware of my body and surroundings.

This morning on my run I was at my turn around point, high above the town and looking across the small rolling hills that fill the void of Wyoming’s eastern half. The sun was bright and beaming on a fresh new morning.

Something I rarely do, but wish I did more of in certain moments in life, and something I did at that point was I just stopped. I decided to not even think about running or anything else. I wanted the stillness. I enjoyed the stillness. Nothing was audible above the light breeze.

It was a moment I felt completely in and a moment that I wish I could have paused and lived in longer.

It was a moment of solitude that I embraced. But it was also a moment worth sharing.

I have never really been a person that has wanted to run with someone. Finding a rhythm with someone is hard and rare to come by. I have been on many runs with someone where I could barely keep up. They are chatting away and I’m fighting for air in between my own words. And there have been many times where it has been the opposite. I have even been on group runs and have still found myself by myself.

I prefer my own pace.

In those rare occasions where each stride is met in unison and each breath is the same, a unique moment is felt. It’s a period of time that is probably similar to when a band comes together in perfect timing without mistakes after hours of practice or a basketball team that just clicks and makes everything look effortless, and maybe it’s something few actually do experience.

But like I said, those are hard to come by when a pace doesn’t match and things are forced.

And as I stood in the moment of this morning, I thought for a second that another presence would have been nice. And maybe that was because she overslept.

It has been only a few times in the past week, but I have gone on a few runs with someone. The pace has been met. And the conversation welcoming.

Each time I have wished it could have gone on longer or that I could have paused the moment and lived in it longer, just like what I felt on my run today.

My enjoyment in solitude has been matched with the enjoyment of another.

12 thoughts on “Running Together

  1. Coach Brian

    I am pretty much a solo runner. Some of that is by choice as, like you said, I like to run my own pace. Some of it is because others are intimated by me and don’t want to “slow me down”. I have thought about doing some local runs at my local running store but that would require me to talk to people (ha ha) and its easier for me to just walk out the front door and begin my run.

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      I am definitely a run out the door runner. I have never understood why people drive 30 minutes to run an hour then drive 30 minutes back. Seems like a waste of time to me.

      Reply
  2. Dan

    In one particularly striking way, running goes against who I am as a person. I recharge with company, I love being around people, and I feel at my best when I’m in the company of friends and family. Very rarely do I truly enjoy an activity that I do alone …

    But I’m a loner when it comes to running. I do 99% of my training runs alone, rarely join someone else in a race or even join a pace group. I like to run at my own pace and rarely does that sync up with someone else’s, namely because I always try to push myself ahead of them. If I run with someone else as a training run, I’ll want to talk, and that can throw off your breathing.

    So yeah, it’s an interesting revelation. Perhaps I do enjoy some alone time and I’ve subconsciously allowed running to fill that void. Regardless, this is really rude of me to gab on about me when clearly you’re going on a bit of soul search here. Hope it goes well 🙂

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      No man, your perspective is much welcomed. I also agree, with myself, that the best of me can come out with the company of others as well. Humans are social animals after all.

      Now that I am here trying to think of a response, I realize how interesting this can be. I guess life is just a balance act.

      And maybe the people like us that feel the need to go on hours and hours of running each week are searching for something within ourselves that can’t be found in the company of others.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Running In Circles | ROAD TO A 100

Leave a Reply

