Hit Restart

Remember growing up and playing Mario or Donkey Kong?

You have the controller and shit is just not going your way. You cannot get past a certain point in this game for the life of you and you’re boiling with frustration, squeezing the hell out of the controller.

What did you do next? Hit the restart button.

With a fresh start and experience behind you, you pass that point you had trouble with, with such ease.

Life is the same fucking game!

Are you not where you want to be? Hit that button!

Everything will work out for you. Just trust it will.

As some of you know that have been following my blog for a while now, know that I worked as a hiking guide at a guest ranch this past summer in Wyoming. Each week a new set of guests would come and stay.

Everyone had the same question. Not just for me but every worker got asked this. “What’s your story?”

I had the luxury of telling my long story of how I found myself there during some long hikes.

The most common response I got in return was, “man, if I could do it all over again I would do something like this.”

It’s always great reassurance for me to hear people say things like that because I’ve never really wanted to live the “norm” that most people do.

Then on the other side, when I hear people say that, I think that really sucks! You’re life is over half over and you wish you did things differently.

Why live thinking like that? If you say that you wish you could do things differently, then do things differently!

Serious think about your life. If your life was a book would anyone want to read it?

“The graveyard is the richest place on earth, because it is here that you will find all the hopes and dreams that were never fulfilled, the books that were never written, the songs that were never sung, the inventions that were never shared, the cures that were never discovered, all because someone was too afraid to take that first step, keep with the problem, or determined to carry our their dream.” -Les Brown

8 thoughts on “Hit Restart

    1. Joey Post author

      Thanks! I have been wanting to write about my experience this summer about what people would tell me. And I have been talking to a friend that wants to make some life changes, so I put this together quickly for him and others that need it

      Reply
  1. Jimmy

    I’ve never played Mario or Donkey Kong, but I like the analogy. It’s not a blanket philosophy, of course – I think doing a hard reset on life is the wrong course of action if it dumps pain, trouble, or financial ruin on someone else’s lap. That said, there are a LOT of people out there who are miserable but too timid to hit the button.

    In line with the Les Brown quote, a man once told me that in his opinion, most people died at about 27 or 28 years old and were buried 50-60 years later. They let their dreams and goals wither and die, and then spent the rest of their years existing and never really living.

    Good stuff, Joey!

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      Yeah I definitely agree that it shouldn’t put a burden on anyone. There are responsibilities that still need to be taken care of, but if you’re miserable or are not enjoying life then something needs to change.

      And I love that advice! I totally agree with it.

      Thanks man

      Reply
  2. Coach Brian

    Very timely article and interesting I found this today when I am having a tough day. Gives me something to think about.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

