February Fitness Challenge

Who’s up for a challenge!?

A month of wall sits!

I was looking at the race website for my next big race and was reminded that there will be about 18,000 feet of ascent and 18,000 feet of descent.

The race is in June but it will be here be before I know it!

I need to start to condition my quads for the brutality that I will go through and strengthen my glutes to power me through the race.

The goal is to get to being able to hold a wall sit for 5 minutes at the end of February.

So who wants to join me?

Screen shot 2015-01-28 at 1.56.39 PM

20 thoughts on “February Fitness Challenge

    1. Joey Post author

      Nice! I did my first wall sit with dumbbells above my head for the first time in a workout class yesterday and they were tough! By the end of the month we should be ready for anything

      Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      Sweet! They will be perfect to get you going. Once you start adding in the runs it will help.

      That’s awesome you’re using the couch plan! Have you run before or is this your first time?

      Reply
      1. H.E. ELLIS

        This is my first time running. I used to hike when I lived in New Hampshire but it was too cold for me to do much more. Now that I am in Virginia I wanted to take advantage of the geography and weather.

    1. Joey Post author

      We have been a lot of jumping lunges in a workout class that I do 3 times a week and I think those have really built a great base for me. And this sounds weird but I find that they are easier in front of a mirror. And I crank up some heavy music too!

      Reply
  1. Pingback: A new fitness challenge for February | 90in9

  2. Pingback: Strength Training: Jumping Lunges | ROAD TO A 100

  3. Pingback: Regaining momentum on a fitness challenge | 90in9

  4. Martha B

    Starting a little late, but I love love love this idea. Especially as a trail runner. Right now the woods are pretty un runnable here so this will be a nice supplement to the hills I’ve been missing out on. Also, glad I found your blog! Looking forward to reading about your adventures in racing!

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      Sweet! Thanks. Wall sits are a blast…haha! Have fun with them. Just crank up some music when the legs start to throb and shake

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Strength Training: Flutter Kicks | ROAD TO A 100

Leave a Reply

