Far-fetched and Unrealistic

Go all out. Period.

Even if what you are shooting for is far-fetched and unrealistic. At some point you will have fetched it and it will become realistic. If you are not aiming big, you’re just going for mediocrity.

You’ve got one chance at life, why set reasonable goals that barely challenge and push yourself to your limits? It’s when you’re near your outer limits when you become fully alive and aware of what is really possible in your lifetime!

Scare the shit out of yourself with your life goals and wake up each day with a passion to achieve them.

All that matters is effort. That alone will take you to your greatest self possible.

Be relentless! Be determined! Be fearless!

12 thoughts on “Far-fetched and Unrealistic

  1. davehuseman

    Here, here! I have been setting unrealistic goals for myself as long as I can remember. And, as should be expected, I failed at most of them. But unlike a lot of people, I have always let the failures roll off my back. On the other hand, for those few that I have succeeded at, I wear them like a crown!

    The ones I failed at, I really only failed for one of two reasons: I lost interest, or I found that I wasn’t as dedicated to it as I thought I was when I set the goal. And those both really boil down to losing interest.

    Contrary to popular belief, I never fail because the goal is too high and I accept that failure is inevitable. More often than not, I fail because I miscalculate my dedication to achieving that goal (and sometimes because I wholly overestimate myself).

    It’s funny that you bring this up because my wife and I were just discussing this. She doesn’t understand why I set such lofty goals. She encourages me to set smaller, intermediate goals that ‘walk me to the finish line’ through a series of small successes. But that’s just not how my brain works.

    I do believe that there is a formula for success, much like there is a recipe for making spaghetti. If I boil the noodles, heat up a jar of Prego, mix them together and serve…I have spaghetti. And there is nothing wrong with that. McDonald’s has build quite the ‘successful’ empire doing just that with hamburgers. But I don’t think Bill Gates, Warren Buffet, Carlos Helu or the countless others on the Forbes Billionaires list think the same way. Many of these guys are mavericks who set impossible goals, take unimaginable risks, and fail to achieve more goals than most people ever care to set for themselves. But, as Mark Zuckerberg has proven, it only takes achieving one of those goals to change the world – or at least that part that we live in.

    (I supposed I could have substituted Scott Jurek, Anton Krupicka, Meb Keflezighi, Kara Goucher, or any number of runners, but I just used the examples above in my ‘real world’). And yes, the real world reference was just for you!

    Keep setting far-fetched and unrealistic goals for yourself or you’ll never know what you can achieve!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Making it Happen | johndwmacdonald

Leave a Reply

