The Most Annoying Saying

I’m going to assume, with it being the holiday season and people taking vacations or/and spending time with family and friends, that you will hear someone say or you might even say it yourself…”back to the real world tomorrow.”

What the hell does that even mean?

Back to the real world?

It’s as if that indicates you just left a make believe dream. Did you not go home for the holidays and hold your Mom, who you haven’t seen in six months, and feel the love and family bond that binds you two? Did you not laugh, smile and even argue about pure nonsense around a holiday feast on Christmas?

Was your beach vacation not real? Did you not feel the warm sand between your toes and taste its grittiness when you took a sip from your soda can not realizing a breeze blew it all over your belongings?

Did all of the photos you posted on Facebook with your best friends, your new gifts, your lover, you family, your cherry pie dessert with ice cream dumped on top, your kids re-enacting Frozen or your front yard covered in snow Christmas morning, did all of that not happened? Was it not real life?

If someone were oblivious to the saying, they might think you were meaning it in the opposite manner. That you were leaving an uncomfortable and miserable situation or job to go live.

But we have it back forwards for some reason!

When someone says “back to the real world” it’s always in a negative tone. If you think the “real world” or “real life” is supposed to be your desk job staring at a screen all day, or bossing people around to sell insignificant shit to the public, or dealing with an asshole that bosses you around to sell more insignificant shit, or take customer service calls from people who are pissed that their cable is out and find it your direct responsibility that it’s raining and lightening outside, you need to wake the fuck up!

Seriously, if you say “back to real life” after a vacation or weekend, you need to take a hard look at how you are spending your time.

Are the things you experienced not real and did they that not happen in the world? Why do we only take our two weeks of vacation a year, to actually live?

85 percent of Americans hate going to their jobs.

Why would you want to spend life in such a miserable way? Why would you consider that the real world?

Your real world should be spent doing what you enjoy. It should be around people who make you feel alive. It should be passionate and doing what you care so much about.

It should be you daily duty and intent to be fully alive.

“The goal is not simply to ‘work hard, play hard.’ The goal is to make our work and our play indistinguishable.” -Simon Sinek

8 thoughts on “The Most Annoying Saying

  1. Nicole@TheGirlWhoRanEverywhere

    I get what you mean about the saying. and i’ve never thought of it that way before, and now that i hear it your way-i do agree with your perspective. However, i love my job-my family-friends-and appreciate the holidays…but, i am extremely happy that they are over and I can get back to my daily groove. As a creature of routine -the holidays throw me out of wack and completely overwhelm me. I can understand why someone could say “back to the real world” and not mean it in a negative way.

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      Good point. You seem to enjoy your work too! Which is rare and kind of the point I was try to get across. Unlike you, most people don’t enjoy what they do

      Reply
  2. Running Boston and Beyond

    In defense of “back to the real world”, during the “not the real world time”, we do things we normally don’t do, we see people we may not see much, we stay up late, we eat too much, laugh a little more, sleep more, give a little more, and along the way, hopefully create memories that last a life time. We just can’t do that all the time and keep our jobs and health 🙂 It’s just a saying, and the way I mean it is to not take away from the good times I’ve had, but just getting back to the “normal” way, which isn’t as free or fun as those times away from the real world.
    And to say that I need to take a look at how I’m spending my time because I say “time to go back to the real world”, well, it’s certainly not realistic for me to sleep in, watch Christmas movies with my parents who live 1000 miles away, eat prime rib, and see my husband every day all day for a week straight since he’s off work(among many other things) as I do during our time off. I love what I do, I love taking care of my kids that requires me to get up before 6 every morning, I love taking them to practice and watching their games, I love doing homework with them, breaking up their arguments, solving that day’s tragedy for them, I love working out 6 days a week, I love cooking dinner for my family every night – THAT is the real world for me, and I love it, but it is not the same as that time away. Sometimes people need a break from the norm, no matter how much they appreciate that norm, and being a responsible parent puts you in a place where you just can’t do everything you want to do – it’s a tricky balance of many factors.
    So yes, yes, I say we’re going “back to the real world”, but my real world is pretty damn good.

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      You love what you do and that’s all that should matter. Most people don’t though. I guess my point was that if you don’t enjoy or love what you do, then make the correct choices to get to where you do love what you do.

      Also everything in this world is real. There shouldn’t be the thought that enjoying oneself on the weekend or holiday isn’t part of the real world.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

