You Have to Change. Do Something New

“Most people they raise a family, they earn a living, and then they die. They stop growing, they stop working on themselves, they stop stretching, and they stop pushing themselves. Then a lot of people like to complain but don’t wanna do anything about their situation. But people who are running towards their dreams, life has a special kind of meaning.” –Les Brown

The local YMCA has reverted a racquetball court in the building’s basement into the exercise class room. They offer yoga, Insanity, HIIT, Pilates, and many others in this room. When I went to the strength and stretching class this morning for the first time, I didn’t expect I would not only be the only guy but I was also the only one under 60. Talk about not fitting in!

Immediately though a lady got me one of those giant workout balance balls, another grabbed me a mat and another asked if anyone in the class if they’ve seen Interstellar (side note: one of the greatest movies ever). I felt right at home.

The class is designed around yoga and Pilates concepts to help strengthen, stretch and increase your range of motion. Other than two or three stretches after a ran, I would say I don’t do what I could be doing.

These ladies killed it! I couldn’t touch my toes for the life of me. I was shaking like hell doing sit ups on the big blow up ball. I couldn’t do a downward dog for the life of me. And I hope no one saw me catch myself when I rolled off the ball trying to attempt a bridge on it.

My day was wide open and I was taking it off from running as well, I decided to head back a few hours later for the HIIT (high intensity interval training) class. This would be my second time attending this one, but the leader said she changes the circuits up every time, so I was bound to do something new.

As I’ve shared before, I’m huge on core workouts but got too stuck in a monotonous routine that I had to switch it up.

Today I picked up dumbbells for the first time in I don’t know how long. I’m a natural type of person. Lifting weights has never been my cup of tea because it has never appeared natural to me. I’ve been told that I should do light weight training for my running, but I feared for some reason that I would become too bulky.

When I lifted the 5 pound dumbbells off the rack, I didn’t know my arms were about to get rocked. But in a good way, hopefully.

I did burpees, dumbbell plank rows and lateral raises all for the first time today among other exercises. My sweat showered the court floor, face burned red and veins bulged from the skin’s surface. Everyone in the class was grunting with every rep at the end.

When I set my lofty goal for the Bighorn 100, I knew I was going to have to do everything I could possibly do. I’m going to have to work harder than I’ve worked before and do things I haven’t done before. It is necessary that I stretch my limits, step out of my comfort zone and push myself whenever I can.

I think any type of growth signifies living. And to get what you want out of life, you’re going to have to make a change. Whether significant or minuscule, something new needs to be done to get the results you want. Especially if you’ve been doing the same thing for a long time, but still getting the same outcome.

To grow, you have to change.

You won’t set a half marathon personal best if you haven’t done speed work.
You won’t graduate with honors if you don’t study.
You won’t get a job promotion if you can’t get your work done on time.
You won’t perform in front of a sellout crowd if you don’t promote the show.
You won’t lose ten pounds if you don’t turn off the tv and get off the couch.
You won’t win the lottery if you don’t play.

You’ve got to put in the work. You’ve got to change things up. You’ve got to grow.

“Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle.” -Abraham Lincoln

7 thoughts on “You Have to Change. Do Something New

  1. Cereja

    It’s so true, we stagnate when we just wallow in our nest. It’s important to get out there and not just experience life, but to push ourselves towards goals. I’m really impressed you stayed at the gym when you found you were not like the others. Strength training is so important, keep at it!

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      I’ve been more open lately, I think my old self would have seen all the older women and walked out. Glad I stayed though, fun group for sure!

      Reply
  2. hoopsstory89

    You’re right. And I think people,sometimes get too caught up in making ideas and forget to take the first step. Actually doing something instead of just talking about it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

