One Word Resolution

I can’t remember how I came across this website and idea months ago but I made sure to save it for this time of year.

OneWord365

The smart thing for me would have been to get started on it right away and not delay making the life changes I want to make. I think you’re more likely to succeed with resolutions if you start them early because if it’s a change you really want to make, you wouldn’t postpone it. Well I’m now making a conscious effort to live by the word I have chosen.

The concept is very simple. Choose one word to live by for the next year.

Instead of creating a laundry list of things you want to change, you only pick “one word that sums up who you want to be or how you want to live your life. One word that you can focus on every day, all year long.”

The website has a whole bunch of suggestions but to help you get your mind deliberating on a word to choose, I’ll name a few…

Open. Adventurous. Listen. Present. Brave. Love. Focus. Generous. Determined. Healthy. Confident. Relax. Learn. Smile. Balanced.

The word I have decided on is Social.

Most weeks, I spend about 6 nights by myself. I don’t feel lonely at all, I enjoy the company of myself and spend a lot of time reading and writing. I also love spending time with friends too. I think the main problem is that I don’t put much effort into setting things up or asking to hang out. I wait for others ask.

And I’d like to be more social with my family. I have never considered my family close. Growing up, the dinner table was more silent than anything. We never really opened up about personal things either. My hopes is that being my social will bring me closer to my family.

Wanting to be more social should be easy given that the world is connected 24/7 with endless avenues.

Saying and doing are two different things. I need to have a plan. Here’s what I have in mind. Any suggestions for me are welcome.

1. Call my parents at least once a week. Every Sunday evening I will give them a call.
2. Hang out with friends at least 2 nights a week. I will be more initiative in asking friends to do something.
3. Call, text or email at least one person every day. There are many days, even many days in a row, that I don’t hear from or reach out to someone.

These should help me get started and I’m sure more opportunities will bloom from these. A tip for anyone would be to write your word down on a small piece of paper and tape it to your mirror. That way each morning you are reminded of what you want to do. If anyone wants to join in on the fun, we can exchange email addresses and start a more intimate relationship beyond this blog.

How would you like to live this coming year? What change do you want to make? What word are you going with?

7 thoughts on “One Word Resolution

  1. Jane Likes to Run

    This is a great idea! I have the same problem as you with being social. There might be running groups in your area. But I don’t like those either! The city that I live in has a social group that has events at microbreweries o once a month. So I am going to force myself to do that at least once this year. But I think my one word would have to be: patience. Having more would just make life less stressful.

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      Patience has been my life moto for some time now. But it’s just too easy to say it compared to being it!

      I find that most runners are introverted. Being social sure can be difficult for us, haha!

      Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      Man, sorry to hear about your buddy and his family. You never know what battles each person faces. Treat everyone with kindness because life is hard for everyone

      Reply
  2. Sarah Herrin

    Love this! As a runner and as one working hard to get my career started, I want my word to be Strong. So far, running has taught me self-confidence and I’ve started learning how to take initiative in other parts of my life as well. Strong core = strong body!

    Reply
  3. Sarah Herrin

    Reblogged this on Run Chicken Run and commented:
    Inspired by this, I revamped my own resolution list into something much more simple and profound. One word gives me more freedom and flexibility to help me accomplish goals. Can you think of a word or two for your new year?

    One Word Resolutions

    – purge
    – run
    – volunteer
    – focus
    – publish
    – continue
    – study
    – play
    – travel/taste
    – neutralize

    Reply

Leave a Reply

