Offered. Accepted. Then…

I was told that I would hear back on Monday about the newspaper job. I spent the day constantly refreshing my email and checking my phone to see if I missed their call. It wasn’t until I was eating dinner, which is early because I think my stomach hasn’t left east coast time, that I got an email saying that the day was very hectic for them and I should hear back no later than Wednesday.

Tuesday. Nothing.

Today I decided I was going to spend the day in my way and not wait for the call.

The skies were clear when the sun broke the horizon. I checked my weather app to see what the temperature was outside. 17. A degree cooler than yesterday. I waited a little longer in bed for it to warm up before I took off on my run. I watched a few motivation videos to amp me up to get out the door. Checked the weather again. 16. Nice, might as well just go for it!

Had an awesome run. It might have been colder but with the sun out, compared to a grey gloomy day yesterday, it felt 10 degrees warmer. Still I had ice chucks form on my beard. I made it a priority to go buy a headband at the sports store on Main Street.

One thing I miss about Atlanta, is that there are ample amount of running specialty stores. And I worked for one. I had access to want I needed on top of getting a big discount.

The sports store here is all encompassing. It’s pretty crammed with everything they carry in such a small space. Guns, knives, skis, western attire, hiking boots and on and on and on. To the point that they have a lot but not many options within categories. So finding what I had in mind was difficult. I was about to give up when I came across a Headgator.

Never heard of one before. I’ve heard of gators for shoes and have seen people wear them during the ultras I’ve done. But this Headgator looks sweet. It functions as a headband, neck warmer, hood, hat and as a mask. This might just be a life saver for me!

Anyways, the day rolls on and I start to think the job slipped from my hands.

The call comes during the afternoon, while I’m watching the movie Splash. The job is offered. I accept it. Then I felt hesitant.

I didn’t feel any type of happiness when the phone disconnected.

The hours are 8-5 and yeah it might be a different work flow since it’s a writing job, but I can’t forget that two and a half years ago I quit the corporate lifestyle. Sitting at a desk all day wasn’t my idea of satisfaction or fulfillment. I was only at the job for a year and I couldn’t stand it. I could not for the life of me understand how people spent their entire lives at a desk job.

My reluctance also stems from the fact that I don’t want to have to sacrifice any part of my passion. What if I can’t run as much? Or have time to do core, stretching, Insanity? Or even time to do my own personal writing?

It’s also digging up the nightmare that ignited my decision to not conform to the social norm. What if I become too comfortable at the job and then time slips by. I wake up one day and realize that I haven’t done anything that I wanted to do in life.

There’s only one way to find out. And maybe I’m just thinking like a pessimist.

Is this normal to be thinking like this? Should I listen to this voice or is it just fear that my imagination is creating?

18 thoughts on “Offered. Accepted. Then…

  1. davehuseman

    First of all, let me say, CONGRATULATIONS!

    Now, in a humble attempt to answer your question…

    Take the job! Don’t hesitate for a second. While you worry that it will restrict your lifestyle, you also have shown a talent, and more importantly, a passion for writing. It’s not often that one gets the opportunity to get paid to de the things they love.

    Your concerns are valid. Many of us fall victim to the comfort of ‘normalcy’. I like to refer to it as ‘comfortably uncomfortable’. The difference is, you are going into this with your eyes wide open. Write yourself a reminder, post notes on your desk, your mirror. Set alarms on your phone. Schedule time to run and workout. Or get paid to remind yourself on a weekly or monthly basis by convincing your boss that running is a great topic for an article or column. Organize a 5K that you can work into your job (the success or failure of which would give you plenty of material for a story).

    Take the job. Don’t fear that you will get sucked into the beat of the corporate drum. It might happen. But it happens to a lot of us, and it’s not the worst thing in the world. More importantly, you are young. You have room in your life to find that you have made a bad career choice (again), and still overcome it. (Use one of those reminders to reevaluate your satisfaction with the job in six months or a year and make a decision then. Worst case scenario, you find that it was a mistake but you gained experience, got paid, and grew from it.

    Take the job for the experience. For the money. For the time being…

    I’m not a writer, so I can’t begin to tell you what you should expect, but I also can’t imagine a job where the opportunity to shape the job to your own interests could possibly be better.

    Take the job, tell them that running is a huge part of your life and a huge part of what opens your mind to writing and work it into the job the best you can. If you find that it isn’t working out, add it to your resume and move on. If that’s not enough to convince you, go back and retread some of your posts, I think you’ve been answering your own question (even if I have interpreted it incorrectly) in many of your recent posts.

    Again, CONGRATLUATION! You deserve to pat yourself on the back.

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      I’ve already thought about presenting the idea of chronicling my journey to the bighorn 100. Maybe take a different approach than I do on here somehow.

      And yeah it’s funny how I preach taking on new opportunities but sometimes even I need inspiration. I also love that you made the point that I’ll be getting laid to do what I love, which is something I looked over when I was thinking about the negatives that could come from the job.

      Thanks for the advice Dave! Your comments are very much appreciated and inspire me

      Reply
  2. newlife4me2

    I have to say that I really enjoy your writing. You have mad skills. And I love your adventurous spirit too. It may be a bit of both. And yes, I believe it’s normal to feel hesitant , possibly fearful of this new venture. I say, stay true to you always. Listen to your gut. Give it a try, because you also enjoy writing, but pay attention to yourself. Don’t allow yourself to become lulled by the job. Use it to let your creativity flow. Trust me, I don’t think you’ll ever be that guy who lets time slip by and doesn’t live. Your passions run strong. This writing thing, it’s one of your passions too. Congratulations. Go with it and see where it takes you. Who knows, you may end up paying your bills and your running gigs with this writing job 🙂

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      Thank you! I agree, I’ve come to far to just life slip by now. I let myself think it over after a good nights rest and I feel ready for this new venture. Very excited now!

      Reply
  3. Ruaca

    Take it and explore how you feel working there. The good news is you’re in charge! Quit if it’s not working for you but at least if you try it you’ll never wonder what if… Good luck!

    Reply
  4. todd

    The job? Who knows, but you won’t know unless you try it. Myself, I enjoyed reading about the cold run. Runs like that really make me feel alive, and make feel for the rest of the day like I have really accomplished something…

    Reply
  5. goingbeyondthewall

    Maybe I’m paranoid or too old fashioned – or totally out of line, but in this insanely connected world…be careful talking about your hesitancy of taking a new job in your blog that anyone in the world could be searching and reading…for example, a manager at a newspaper who is interested in seeing more of your writing style.

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      Great point and much appreciated. I’m beyond excited now and I just wanted to express my initial feelings. I know from an employers standpoint, if they were to see it, it wouldn’t look good. But if for some reason the job falls through maybe it would be some blessing in disguise. My goal now with this blog, is to capture as much as possible going into my next big race then hoping to turn it into a book. This is my project and life that I feel passionate about and don’t want to censor anything with fear of what someone might think.

      Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      Each state has their own laws for gun control. But Wyoming is known for hunting, so walking into the sports store it’s no surprise it’s the first thing you see

      Reply
  6. joeschmoe2000

    congratulations on the job.

    sometimes jobs are a necessary evil. they pay the bills. i’ve been around the block a few times and even your dream job gets a little old and stale. but, keep your energy up on your passions.

    there’s a guy that i really love that challenged me to blend my experience, my talents and my passions and try to find the overlap that could also make money. google aaron ross and unique genius. it was an awesome experience for me. it led me to start a blog in 2014. and that’s going well. i’m having fun with it.

    thanks for sharing! joe

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      Thanks man, about to look him up now. Like many people I’m just trying to find out how to make work and play blend to be in indistinguishable

      Reply
  7. runrodrun

    I know how you feel. Nex to my relationship my running is my top priority. And even if it’s not the “grown up” thing to do, I couldn’t bear having to sacrifice my running for a job.

    But like you said, all you have to do is try the new job. No one says you need to spend the next 3 or 4 decades at it 😃

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      I don’t believe in that “grown up” talk. When people say that to me I just figured they gave up on their dreams a long time ago.

      Reminds me of a time back this summer. I was a hiking guide and I was telling a guy my life story. His response was “well once this summer is over, you’ll have this out of your system and then you can go and get a real job.”

      I don’t understand why people think like that. What constitutes as a real job? One that grows the individual, makes them feel happy and feel appreciated? Or one that just pays the bills?

      Might be a future blog post!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

