Next Steps

20140521-202336-73416995.jpg

This morning I was watching the sunrise in Key West, FL. Now, as I’m writing this, I’m in Atlanta for the moment. And early tomorrow morning I’ll be on the road to Wyoming to spend the summer as a hiking guide.

Though it has been three days since I finished the 100 miler, I still feel absolutely beat. My head feels extremely tired and I’ll a want to do is sleep! Since I will be on the move tomorrow, I am not sure when I’ll have time to write my race report. The first moment I get some down time, I’ll put my words to paper.

The long drive will give me plenty of time to collect my thoughts too! I’m still replaying the race in my head and feel overwhelmed just thinking about it. I’m almost speechless as to how to describe the race as a whole. It was such an incredible, humbling, difficult and exhilarating experience.

When I crossed the finish line, I was greeted with a champagne shower, birthday cake and my first beer in 6 months.

I want to thank everyone that has been part of this. Even though we never physically have met, it still means a lot to have people with you along the way. We all have our different goals and it’s wonderful we have such a cool community of runners. You guys are awesome! Thanks for all of the kind words and support!

20140521-203936-74376194.jpg
(About mile 45. Eating watermelon. And this was the first shade I got of the day.)

20140521-203951-74391302.jpg
(After finishing. About to chow on some cake.)

9 thoughts on “Next Steps

  1. Jane Likes to Run

    Looking forward to your recap. I’m sure it takes some time to even process an experience like a 100 mile race. Have a good summer. Be sure to post some pictures of Wyoming. Is so beautiful there.

    Reply
  2. Jim Brennan

    Your description, “incredible, humbling, difficult and exhilarating experience,” is perfect, only an endurance athlete can appreciate. Love the photos, too. You are motivating me for an ultra. Keep going, Joey!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

