Training Update

“Once you realize that the road is the goal and that you are always on the road, not to reach a goal, but to enjoy its beauty and its wisdom, life ceases to be a task and becomes natural and simple, in itself an ecstasy.”
-Nisargadatta Maharaj

It has been three weeks since my last race now. I would say it took about two of those for my calves not to feel like they’ve been through a meat grinder. The soreness finally subsided at a perfect time.

This past week was a huge week of training for me. I had a few longish easy runs and a tempo workout during the week. And I had back to back long runs this weekend bringing my weekly total to about 79 miles. The most I’ve ever done in a week. And the second long run was my longest training run I’ve ever done, which was about 28 miles.

My main goal with the longest run was to run at such an easy pace that I would feel like I could keep going. I would have to say it was one of the best runs I have ever had. With the slow pace, I never once gave thought to speed. I did my best to constantly do a body scan which would eventually put my mind in a zen like state. It was one of those runs where the mind was in complete control no matter how the body was feeling. It was just the simple act of running and nothing else.

It was such a huge confidence booster with my next race coming up at the end of March, the Croom 50 miler in Florida. Also the weather here is turning to Spring, so it has brought a new exhilaration to getting outside.

9 thoughts on “Training Update

  1. Trails and Ultras

    I love that quote at the beginning…it’s a philosophy I try to live by but sometimes I forget!

    Reply
  2. Girl Runs Wild

    Very nice – it’s great that you are recovering from your last ultra, I bet it can take some time. It’s funny, my best long runs have also been the ones where I’ve just settled into the “keep moving forward” mentality, without worrying about time or pace. I’ve enjoyed these runs much more than the ones where I keep checking my watch, having instead taken the time to enjoy the scenery. These runs are teaching me volumes about my physical needs and how to keep myself comfortable for a very long time. The longest I have run so far (in training) has been 27 miles, and it’s such a huge confidence boost to finish such a run feeling strong and like I could have gone on for longer. Upwards and onwards! When is your next race?

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      I think we should all listen to the body when we run and not read a watch. It makes for a better experience. I just hope I have the same type of run come race day, which is March 29th.

      Reply
      1. Girl Runs Wild

        I couldn’t agree more – there’s nothing better than racing when you’re in that zen frame of mind! Best of luck on the 29th – it’s not the 100 miler yet, or is it?

Leave a Reply

