Wall Sit Theory

20140228-143946.jpg
(This is what I look like after I shave. Image source)

I have this idea that has to do with adding and the duration of wall sits in a workout. So hear me out.

I’m a huge fan of core and strength training exercises. A friend of mine even recently joked that I run as cross training to my core work. I do close to an hours worth a day. Is that a lot?

I can’t be the only one that has felt like my quads were about to blow up at the end of a long race. And it seems like those were the first muscles to go during the really long runs. So here’s my thinking…

For every 10 miles of running in a race, you should do 1 minute of wall sits during your core routine.

If the race is a 50K, then 3 minutes of wall sits. If the race is 50 miles, then 5 minutes of wall sits. For a marathon, do about 2 and a half minutes.

I added wall sits a few months ago, starting with just 30 seconds, and slowly built my way up. I got up to doing 3 x 1 minute leading up to my last 50K. The quads held up very well at the end of the race. I felt doing these had me more prepared and I could tell the pain was pretty minimal at the end of the race compared to the last race I did before adding them.

I have a 50 miler coming up at the end of March and my goal is to get up to doing 5 minutes total of wall sits. Hopefully my theory holds up. If it does, I’ll try to get to doing 10 minutes for the 100 mile race in May.

If you want to add them, I would suggest doing 1 x 30 seconds. Then after a week, add another 30 seconds. Then get to where you can do 3 x 30 seconds. After that start to increase the time, so maybe 40 seconds next and build up to a minute for each rep.

Does anyone do wall sits anymore? Or am I just so old school?…

Can anyone attest to this?

16 thoughts on “Wall Sit Theory

  1. fullmoonrunner

    This is an interesting idea! Like you, I’m a big fan of core strength and work on it every day in some shape or form. I did some wall sits the other day, so it’s funny that you should mention them (and confirms that you’re not the only one doing them)! I’m a big fan of forward-backward lunges to get my quads burning and never had a problem with them getting tired in a race. However, I have yet to run longer than the infamous 26.2, so that might well change once I do…!

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      I’ve only recently kept up with squats and lunges, so hopefully soon mine will hold up like yours. Any other core stuff you do that not many people do?

      Reply
      1. Girl Runs Wild

        I just do the normal core exercises – lots of pushups and more plank variations than I can shake a stick at. Oh, and lots of horseriding as well of course!

  2. jessihannahjay

    I had never thought of doing this to help with running.

    But I know I sure had to do a lot of these when I played basketball, and that’s when I was probably in the best shape of my life..

    I’m really into body weight stuff (I refuse to pay money at the gym to be healthy), so I will definitely give this a try again!

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      It activates the quads and glutes. So it is perfect for running. I’m surprised you never read about it in running magazines when they talk about core workouts.

      Reply
      1. jessihannahjay

        I didn’t do much cross training at all actually when I trained for my marathon. I was so busy with work and school, even getting in my runs was difficult, though I’m sure it would have produced much better results. Next time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

