2 Questions: Ian Sharman

20140213-103936.jpg

Ian Sharman set the Grand Slam of ultrarunning record this past Summer. That’s running the cumulative fastest times of Western States 100, Vermont 100, Leadville 100 and Wasatch 100…all in one Summer. He recently finished 2nd place at the Rocky Raccoon 100 in Texas a few weeks ago, where he has the course record of 12:44 set in 2011.

Knowing all that you know now, what would you tell your young self that was new to ultras?

To treat it all as an adventure. I’ve generally aimed to do this but sometimes forget for short periods and have to remind myself.

What piece of advice would you give to someone who is training for their first 100 miler?

Don’t put pressure on your finish time, using the first 100 as a way to learn and see how things play out, focusing on looking after yourself throughout. That’s the way to maximize your pace in the latter stages, which is where most people lose a lot of time.

20140213-103943.jpg

2 thoughts on “2 Questions: Ian Sharman

  1. fullmoonrunner

    It’s funny, because that’s exactly how I’ve been thinking about my first ultra – a journey, and adventure, an experiement in how to best look after myself on the long run. While I’m “just” going for about 100km, I’ll make sure to apply the same ideas. 😉 Thank you for sharing this, the man is already a legend I think!

    Reply
  2. racingthestates

    Excellent post! I got to “meet” Ian at the Leadville 100 last summer…I put meet in quotes because I was volunteering and got to hand him some chicken broth in a cup! It was amazing to see him, and all the other elite runners that day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

