Christmas Miracle…

Christmas Eve I was enjoying solitude in my apartment. Relaxing with a book and a cup of tea. I was looking forward to not working on Christmas Day, sleeping in and getting to spend time with my family. Before I went to bed I tried to get in a good meditation. But something was bothering me a little. I kind of had this feeling like I needed to pee, so before turning in for the night I went to relieve myself. I thought it was weird that it felt like I really needed to go but not as much as I expected came out. Quickly I became restless laying in bed. That feeling like I needed to pee turned into an ache and then my stomach started to hurt. I constantly got up to go to the bathroom. The pain got worse and even spread to my back. This is when I really started to worry. It felt like someone punched me in the nuts, and beat the hell out of my stomach and lower back. Finally I looked up my symptoms online to see what might be going on and all the results lead to a kidney stone. I was restless, uncomfortable and doubled over.

The pain came around midnight. All through the night I really wanted to go to the hospital. But as everyone was probably rubbing the sleep out of the their eyes and starting to unwrap gifts, I was tired and the pain was slowly fading. I woke up early afternoon feeling normal. I even went on a run. I got to enjoy Christmas dinner with my family. A nice big ribeye steak, a twice baked potato, green beans, squash and zucchini. All night they kept asking me if I wanted to get it checked out at the hospital. I figured since the pain was gone, there wouldn’t be a need to go. And I didn’t want to pay for them just to tell me there wouldn’t be anything to do but wait.

All the next day I was fine. I decided to take the day off from running just to give my body some rest. I moved my Thursday fartlek workout to Friday. Waking up Friday morning, I felt great and nailed the workout. But when I got back I started to pee blood. I had no pains, but I guess I was still having some problems.

Come afternoon, the discomfort was back. I read that if it were a kidney stone, the pain might come in waves. I spoke with my parents about it and decided to go to their place to rest. And we decided if the pain got too bad then we’d go to the hospital. So I packed a bag and headed their way. They only live about 45 minutes away from me. Not even 5 minutes into the drive, the discomfort turned to pain. I called my parents back up. “Just meet me at the hospital.”

Now I wanted to know what was going on. All the signs pointed to a kidney stone but there are always things that you pass by when searching symptoms online that scare the hell out of you. I guess I wanted the peace of mind.

I got to the hospital just after 6 pm. I didn’t get checked on until after 10. The first part of my wait I spent pacing back and forth. Then I decided to lay down on a two person bench. I found that laying in an uncomfortable position, it made the pain feel better. Surprisingly I even drifted to sleep a few times. By the time my name was called I was feeling fine again. I went through the normal stuff. Blood tested, did a urine sample, had a ct scan. And yep, the doctor confirmed it was a kidney stone. And I was told it was a millimeter in diameter and I should pass it in the next or two.

When I first thought it would be a kidney stone, I did a tad more research. A kidney stone is a build up of calcium and sodium. Most cases they will be passed in a few days, in some they have to be surgically removed. Sometimes it can be reoccurring.

I’m the type of person that wants to know why something went wrong so I can make sure it doesn’t happen again. If I have a bad run, I look back and see what might have caused it to go so wrong and try to never repeat the same mistake. So I took this the same way. There’s always a lesson to be learned. I’ve always thought that I have a decent diet. I probably eat better than most people and I hardly ever eat fast food. I’ve even recently stopped drinking alcohol. Things I were reading online said that you should lower the intake of animal protein and sodium. Eat more fiber and foods that are vitamin rich.

One of the nurses even said, “my husbands gets these all the time.” What the fuck, was all I could think. I don’t want to go through this shit again. Why would anyone continue doing what they were doing just to be fucking miserable for a handful of days every once in a while. I’m guessing she made the comment to ease me, making the point that it’s a common thing.

But my point is that it was an eye opening experience. You put garbage In your body and you’ll feel like garbage eventually. Eat greasy pizza and you’ll be sitting on the toilet 30 minutes later. And sometimes the effects won’t be immediate like in my case. Was it something specific I ate or have been eating lately? Or was it a collection of things over time? Who knows, but I think it’s time I really think about what I do put into my body to fuel it. I’m not sure what changes I’m going to make going forward yet, but I will be making some.

Health is probably something we all take for granted. Yeah all of us exercise for better health, but there’s much more to it than getting your half an hour in a day. We think that since nothing is wrong now, then you are completely fine. Until something does arise. For me, it’s time to stop thinking “oh, I’ll run so much, I’ll just burn it off” or “I’m young, it won’t effect me later on.”

The body is something we should take special care of. Really it’s all we have. Everything in life can be taken away, but the only thing that you can be left with is your body and health. Treat it like you love it.

19 thoughts on “Christmas Miracle…

      1. Joey Post author

        I feel like a could write a huge research paper on kidney stones now. Haha! But I think mine were triggered by drinking black tea. Thought I was adding something healthy, but just the way my body is made up, the tea was rocking my kidneys.

      2. Joey Post author

        Hahaha! The funny thing is, that did cross my mind. “Maybe my body just really wants beer.” I don’t think I’ll cut beer out forever. I just love IPAs and Milk Stouts too much

    1. Joey Post author

      I was lucky and didn’t feel it when it passed. Mine was tiny compared to what it could have been. But it still was miserable as my body was trying to get rid of it

      Reply
  1. Jane Likes to Run

    So sorry you had to deal with this, especially on the holidays. I have never had one before, but I used to work in kidney disease, and am all too familiar with these things!

    Reply
  2. The Chubby Ultra Runner

    Sounds painful. Making your own meals from scratch and choosing good ingredients is always a good start, Unfortunately, some people are more prone to certain problems than others too – some get away with eating allsorts. Green vegetables and pulses are generally a good bet though…

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      Yeah I was reading up on them and I believe mine was triggered by drinking black tea. It’s crazy people can never have them with everything they eat

      Reply

Leave a Reply

