Race Weekend Is Here

“Listen to the sound of waves within you.” -Rumi

This past Summer, after I ran my first 50 mile race, I took an entire month off from running. I was exhausted from training in the heat and humidity of Georgia. I wanted to take time off to regroup. To sleep in. To enjoy my weekends with friends. And to let my body and mind relax. It takes a lot out of you running that long in one day.

My initial plans when I started to run again was to just do a bunch of easy runs. Nothing long, nothing fast. I didn’t want to jump back into a training cycle too soon and end up burned out. And I really had no intentions of doing any races this Fall. I just wanted to run with no particular goal except to build a solid base for 2014.

The first few weeks are always rough after a long break. It’s almost like you’ve never ran before. But I slowly I started to feel great. I got the idea maybe I could get in a 50K before the end of the year. I put one on my radar that was somewhat close to home and had my coach put together a training plan for me. If I felt like it was going to be too much too soon, I would hold off from doing the race and set my sites on something in the Spring. I really wanted to make sure I was ready for it. I didn’t want to push myself too hard. Surprisingly though, I felt I was getting stronger with each week. With that my confidence told me the 50K would be doable. I pulled the trigger and signed up.

Now I’m just a few days out from the Old Glory Trail Trot 50K this Sunday in Pinehurst, North Carolina. Training went very very well. I feel I’m in the best running shape I’ve ever been in. As I get more and more excited about racing, I have already had to repeat my mantra to calm me, which is very appropriate for life too. “Be smart. Be patient. Be in the moment.”

I’m really excited to see and explore a new area this weekend! I don’t get the luxury of running on trails in Atlanta so this will be refreshing. Should be a fun race and looking forward to putting forth my best effort.

28 thoughts on “Race Weekend Is Here

    1. Joey Post author

      Yeah my mantra has helped me the last few races since I’ve come up with it. Once you get warmed up, it’s easy to want to speed up. Thanks for the kind words!

      Reply
  1. klayire

    There’s nothing like a good mantra to get you through a race. For a 50 miler I expect you need a few. Some tried and tested – “still looking smooth”, “this is why I came here”, “pain is weakness exiting the body”…Good luck!

    Reply
  2. becelisa

    love your mantra! before i did my half ironman a friend gave me this advice … “remember to thank your body for allowing your soul this experience”. those words took me through augusta and through my 50 miler. it is all about living in the moment and realizing that these long races ~ or even just the long training runs ~ are experiences to be treasured. good luck this weekend and most of all have fun!

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      Thanks! It’s crazy you mention the advice your friend gave you. I just read about that concept in a book called the Art of Power by Thich Nhat Hanh. I’ll remind myself and express the gratitude towards myself this weekend, and see what it does. Thanks for sharing!

      Reply
  3. davehuseman

    Good luck to you on your run, Joey. I’ll be cheering you on and looking forward to your race report after. I’m counting on you to keep me motivated as I ponder whether or not this is something I really want to pursue.

    Reply
      1. davehuseman

        I’ll ponder it for another year or so. This past year has been a good reality check that I can still push this old body further and faster than I thought. Over the next year I’ll push myself to see if an ultra is in my cards. The desire is strong, but the body is getting old – thankfully I’m a strong willed person and my desires usually prevail.

    1. Joey Post author

      I’m chilling in a hotel room. Just ate some Papa Johns and resting up. Luckily, I’m tired from a long drive today. Race is in the morning!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

