Onto The Next Challenge(s)

20131103-171947.jpg

I was beaten but not broken. I was hoping everyone wouldn’t ask me how my race went. Telling all your friends and family what happened after a bad race is never fun. You basically just make up excuses and after excuses just to make yourself feel better. Everyone was congratulatory for my marathon completion, but I seemed to be the only one down that I didn’t reach my goal. Looking back at my training to see what went wrong, I pinpointed that my trip to Montana was where I went wrong, missing a whole week of training about 3-4 weeks out from the race. Moving forward I wasn’t going to let that happen again.

I decided to pass on the offer from my Cousin to move to Montana. I really didn’t enjoy the cold weather. I thought I always wanted to live in a colder climate, but I don’t think I was ready to then. Montana basically has two seasons, Winter and Spring. I love my Summer months even if some days in the South the humidity does become unbearable. I was only there for a week and it was the most snow I’ve ever seen and the coldest I’ve felt. I don’t think I could handle about 8 months out of the year of that.

And I didn’t have a job…again. And was hunting…again. I had been thinking about going back to school since my career wasn’t exactly taking off. When I was looking for marketing jobs using online job boards, it seemed like there were about 10 accounting jobs to about 1 marketing job. Back in college my major originally was accounting. I had scored an internship at a new rock radio station doing event marketing. After a few weeks into it, they told me that my degree and job didn’t really match up. So I decided to switch my major to keep the internship. I absolutely loved working at the radio station and had no regrets changing majors. I ended up becoming very interested in everything about marketing from that point on.

But with no work, I decided that by the beginning of April (2011), I would apply back to school to get a second bachelors degree in accounting. I figured then, if the job market was still on the shitty side, I would be able to land one of these numerous jobs that were posted. I also told myself I wasn’t going to apply to any temporary warehouse work. I spent a few weeks looking for jobs and finally scored an interview. And it was finally for something I would be using my degree and the company seemed right up my ally.

The company was a daily deal website, just like Groupon. The site hadn’t launched yet but was being backed by a major radio corporation. Which made it more appealing to me since I loved the internship I did in college. I figured the company would be super chill and awesome to work for. This was a different company than the radio station I worked for when in school, but when I interviewed there I wore a collard shirt and got made fun of. So this time, I did show up to the interview in a collard shirt, but I definitely appeared relaxed with it untucked and in jeans. I got the job but instead of being made fun of, I was told that I couldn’t wear jeans again and to look a little nicer. Haha! So much for thinking it would be a cool gig.

To begin, this started as an unpaid internship. But it was a step in the right direction. I was in charge of the social media accounts and also for helping set up the deal web pages. I hated dressing somewhat nice. Really it was nice for my standards, but not as great as the sales reps and managers. I’m a t-shirt and jeans type of person, and prefer a good scruff on my face. I’ll tuck in my shirt but I had to keep my true self in tact. Other than that though, I was ecstatic about finally having an office job. Happy to finally and hopefully be on a career path. Since this was without pay, I decided to apply back to school too.

I started a new job, was looking forward to going back to school and after a few weeks of rest, I was starting to train for my first Half Ironman. Ready to take on new challenges!

Leave a Reply

