Ready For It

20131016-171151.jpg

I started another job. Training for my first half marathon was reaching its peak. Knocking out 12 mile and 14 mile training long runs were my accomplishments. It’s great starting your weekend off that way. Even if you do absolutely nothing after that, you still feel like you’ve conquered something amazing. Since I was doing longer runs than what people were telling me I needed to do, I knew the distance would be easy to cover, but how fast could I cover it? So the distance didn’t scare me leading up to the race. I was confident I would be able to cross the finish line come race day.

Since I technically already ran a half marathon in training, I started to wonder what was next. You can tell yourself over and over you’ll never try to do something just because it seems insane, but once your strength and abilities build, you begin to wonder why you ever thought about not even trying. Even though I told myself that this race would be my first and last, I was hooked! I don’t think there was anyway I would stop once I fell in love with running. I wanted to push myself beyond what I thought was impossible for me in the beginning.

Before race day even came, I had already signed up for my first marathon! That race would be the Publix Georgia Marathon in March. The way things were going in training, I just thought I would keep the ball rolling and begin training right after the half. Running was giving me the chance to see how far I could push my limits physically since I wasn’t given an opportunity to intellectually within a job. Which I absolutely hated the new job.

I was working for a company that takes old pictures and videos and transfers them onto DVDs. First I was placed in the shipping department. All you had to do was place an order in a shipping bag, weigh the thing and print off a few shipping labels. Easy work. Easy pay. After a week though I needed something new. I started asking my employment agency if there was anything else for me. Something that I could use my degree in. But they kept side stepping me and telling me I was a great fit for the company and should see where it goes.

After a month in the shipping area, I was moved to the area where the old VHS and Beta tapes were transferred into the system to be burned to DVDs. At face value this didn’t seem like it would be bad. Get to watch old family videos and search for any static on the screen or recorded copyright. I figured it would almost be like watching America’s Funniest Home Videos…not even close. It was extremely boring stuff people recorded. That or I was watching child birth. Which by the way is fucking disgusting. The act itself is amazing, but who films in extreme close up the baby popping out? I just covered my screen with paper and watched other screens.

The company was actually the leaders in this industry of converting old formats to new. So the work load was there. They had the place operating close to 18-20 hours a day. So quickly after being placed in my new department, they put me on second shift. In a way I didn’t mind it too much. I didn’t have to wake up so early to run before work. I could take my time in the morning and not feel so rushed running.

Race week came and I was pumped. Not only because of the race but because it was Thanksgiving week. I was looking forward to some time off and to focus on the race. Our holiday schedule was up in the air til that week so we didn’t know how much time the company would get off. My excitement faded quickly when I found out I only had Thanksgiving day off. When it came time to leave Wednesday, My manager said I had that sleepy look on my face and that it looked like I had already checked out for the day. When my shift was up, I bolted out of there. I was tired and needed to get some rest for the race the next day. I was ready to put myself to the test.

7 thoughts on “Ready For It

  1. couchtorunning

    Haha some people love to film everything. If I was giving birth I would NEVER want anyone to film that… ew.
    So what did you get your degree in? I just finished school as well and trying to figure out next steps.

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      My degree is in marketing. It was just insanely hard a few years ago to find a job that required a degree, for me.

      It’s totally normal to not know what you want to do fresh out of school and try to figure the next steps out. Gives you time to make a better decision than just taking whatever big job offer you get right away. I hated at the time the jobs I worked, but the variety and experience has brought me somewhere I very much enjoy.

      Reply
      1. couchtorunning

        Yeah I spent all of my time while I was doing my bachelors sure of what I wanted to do after…. until I realized it wasn’t for me. That was frustrating. I guess it was better to figure it out now and not when I had already done the extra schooling for it.
        Now I just have to see what is going to come next.

  2. running4beer

    You’re such a good writer and paint such a good picture. I enjoy reading your views/stories on running. It’s so motivating. You’re making me want to start training for another full marathon! When’s your next race??

    Reply
    1. Joey Post author

      Thanks for the kind words! I’m doing the 7 Bridges marathon in Chattanooga, TN this weekend. And in mid November I’m doing a 50K called the Old Glory Trail Trot in Pinehurst, NC.

      You should totally pick one out! Maybe late spring/early summer for you, since it might be more on the brutal side for you to run outside up in your part of the country.

      Reply
  3. running4beer

    Good luck on your race this weekend! Can’t wait to hear about it. I’ve driven through Chattanooga a few times and it seems like such a cool city.
    Haha, winter running isn’t too bad. I actually really enjoy running on the boardwalk next to Lake Superior. Well, except when there is wind 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

